Temples Of Japan

Temples and Shrines of Chubu Region

Custom Search

Nihondaira Area - Shizuoka Prefecture
Scenic Nihondaira Area (Shizuoka Prefecture)

Chubu in Japanese means "middle part".  Chubu region literally represents the middle area of the main island of Honshu and it is nestled between the Kanto Region on east and Kansai Region on the west.  Chubu Region consists of nine prefectures.  They are Aichi, Fukui, Gifu, Ishikawa, Nagano, Niigata, Shizuoka, Toyama and Yamanashi.

The mountain range, popularly known as Japanese Alps, consists of Hida, Kiso and Akaishi mountains and bifurcate, run through the middle of the Chubu Region.  Chubu region consists of some of the most developed cities both commercially and culturally.  This area is serviced by three main Shinkansen lines.  The Joetsu Shinkansen services the Niigata prefecture, the Nagano Shinkansen services the Nagano Prefecture and parts of the Tokaido Shinkansen services the areas around the Shizuoka Prefecture.

The third largest city in Japan after Tokyo and Osaka, is the Nagoya city is located in Aichi Prefecture.  It is also one of the most developed, internationalized commercial hubs of Japan.

Nagoya Railway Park

Most of the cities in Chubu Region, like Nagano, Niigata and Shizuoka reflect similar urbanization, cultural aspects of the Nagoya City.  Nagano city is world famous for it's ski slopes and it hosted the Winter Olympics in 1998.  The Mt. Fuji (Fuji-san) is the most recognizable symbol of not only the Chubu Region but also Japan.

Support my Website

If you would like to search through the grand Index of temples of other regions (other than Kanto and Kansai), Click the index link below

  Temple Index of Other Regions

Website Builder